

Distr.: General 6 June 2023

Original: English

## **Industrial Development Board**

Fifty-first session
Vienna, 3 to 6 July 2023
Item 13 of the provisional agenda
Independent Oversight Advisory Committee

## Membership of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee

Note by the Secretariat

The present document proposes the appointment of two new members and the reappointment of one member of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee, in accordance with paragraph 8 of the revised terms of reference of the committee, as approved by the Board through decision IDB.48/Dec.5.

## I. Overview

- 1. The Independent Oversight Advisory Committee (OAC) is an advisory committee established pursuant to rule 63 of the rules of procedure of the Industrial Development Board to advise the Board and the Director General on issues within the OAC's mandate.
- 2. In line with paragraph 8 of the terms of reference of the committee, the Board appointed the following members to the committee:
- (a) Under decision IDB.48/Dec.6, on 26 November 2020, for a term of three years, from 26 November 2020 to 25 November 2023, or until the appointment (or reappointment) of members at the fifty-first regular session of the Board, whichever is later:

Mr. Elmar Vinh-Thomas (South Africa) Africa Group

Mr. S. Lakshman Athukorala (Sri Lanka) Asia-Pacific Group

Mr. Michael N. Parker (Jamaica) GRULAC

For reasons of sustainability, this document has not been printed. Delegates are kindly requested to refer to electronic versions of all documents.







(b) Under decision IDB.50/Dec.7, on 23 November 2022, for a term of three years, from 23 November 2022 to 22 November 2025, or until the appointment (or reappointment) of members at the fifty-third regular session of the Board, whichever is later:

Ms. Sabina Blaskovic (Croatia) States in List D

Mr. Tuncay Efendioglu (Türkiye) WEOG

- 3. In line with paragraph 8 of the terms of reference of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee, <sup>1</sup> and as outlined in Board decision IDB.45/Dec.13, "Members shall serve for renewable terms of three years each with a maximum of six years. Rotation of membership shall be staggered to allow for continuity". Two members are currently serving a first three-year term: Ms. Sabina Blaskovic (Croatia) and Mr. Tuncay Efendioglu (Türkiye). Mr. Michael Parker (Jamaica) has opted for a further term of two years. Two members, Mr. Lakshman Athukorala (Sri Lanka) and Mr. Elmar Vinh-Thomas (South Africa), have completed their second term and their positions on the committee will become vacant.
- 4. In accordance with Board decision IDB.50/Dec.7, the Board approved a non-exhaustive roster of candidates for the committee to be considered for future vacancies on the committee. Further details regarding the process and selection can be found in document IDB.50/24. In line with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the committee, due regard shall be given to the principle of equitable geographical representation. To fill the two vacant positions, the following candidates from the same regional group have been approached to fill the two vacancies on the Oversight Committee and have confirmed their availability to serve a three-year term:

Mr. Ibrahim James Pam (Nigeria) Africa Group

Ms. Susan Verghese (India)

Asia-Pacific Group

- 5. Summary curricula vitae of the two candidates from the roster and of the one member proposed for reappointment are provided in conference room papers IDB.50/CRP.13 and IDB.48/CRP.9 respectively.
- 6. Given the current lack of gender balance on the Oversight Committee, the Board is strongly encouraged to consider appropriate measures to enhance gender parity during the next call for applications and selection process.

## II. Action required of the Board

7. The Board may wish to consider adopting the following draft decision:

"The Industrial Development Board:

(a) Takes note of document IDB.51/23 on the membership of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee;

2/3 V.23-10611

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Paragraph 8 of the terms of reference of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee reads as follows:

<sup>&</sup>quot;8. Members shall serve for renewable terms of three years each with a maximum of six years. Rotation of membership shall be staggered to allow for continuity as outlined in Board decision IDB.45/Dec.13, and details should be included in the Oversight Committee's internal procedures (refer para. 25). The term of office will commence on the date of the Board's appointment, and it will expire upon conclusion of the three-year term or upon the appointment (or reappointment) of a member at the regular Board session of the relevant year, whichever is later."

- (b) In line with paragraph 8 of the terms of reference of the committee, appoints the following members to the committee:
  - (i) For a term of three years, from 26 November 2023 to 25 November 2026, or until the appointment (or reappointment) of members at the regular session of the Board of the relevant year, whichever is later:

Mr. Ibrahim James Pam (Nigeria) Africa Group

Ms. Susan Verghese (India) Asia-Pacific Group

(ii) For a term of two years, from 26 November 2023 to 25 November 2025, or until the appointment of a new member at the regular session of the Board of the relevant year, whichever is later:

Mr. Michael N. Parker (Jamaica) GRULAC

V.23-10611 3/3